#TweetMe

Tweet me 4 12 2016

#TweetMe

an Emery&Chris story

by avenger-nerd-mom

Emery stays behind the scenes while Chris works on the press tour; she spends the afternoon with Anthony Mackie

Warnings: FLUFF, Language

AUTHOR’S NOTE: All images in this story are self-created for the purposes of the fan-fiction story.

Word Count: 1069

“Hey, pretty girl!  What are you doing?” Anthony Mackie sweeps into the room and flops down on the couch next to Emery.

Emery pushes her reading glasses on top of her head.  “Don’t tell Chris.  I’m grading papers,” she laughs.  “He made me promise no school work this week, but I can’t leave my Honors College Prep class out to dry like that.  The sub has been scanning in their work and emailing it to me. One of the assistants around here was able to print them out for me.”

Anthony leans on her shoulder, reaching in his pocket and pulling out a pack of gum.  He offers her a piece and she gladly takes it.  “Oh, I’m in your personal space. Think he’ll punch me?”

Emery scowls at her second favorite Marvel man.  “Anthony, that’s not fuckin’ funny.  I just… UGH. He’s gonna have to get over that.  We had a really long talk yesterday.  The jealousy never came up, but I think since some other things were put to rest, maybe he’ll chill a bit.”

Anthony watches the red head perch the glasses back on her nose.  He likes the funny little woman and enjoys getting to learn more about her.  She is a true Southern woman, and Chris is going to have to learn how to deal with her.  He quietly asks, “Did you two talk about the wedding?  That was really giving him a stick up his ass.”

Emery chuckles at the expression.  “He told you it was bugging him?”  Emery asks, surprised.  Her phone starts to vibrate and she leans forward to reach it from the table, knocking some papers off her lap.

“Yea, we talked about it,” Anthony says, giving no more details.  “You’re phone is blowin’ up, girl! What’s goin’ on?”

Anthony shifts on the couch and leans against her, pushing on her.  Emery unlocks her phone and looks at her home screen.  Her face turns to a quizzical expression.  “Anthony?” she inquires. “What are we doing here?”

“Well, I don’t know about you, but I’m trying to snuggle next to a pretty girl and take a nap.  Press stuff is tiring.”

“No, I mean here in this building?  My students are sending me messages telling me I need to tweet a certain hashtag?”

“Aren’t they in school?” he chuckles.

“Yea, that’s beside the point… What are they talking about?”

Anthony turns his head from her shoulder to look up at her sweet face and explains the twitter event going on and how they’ve been posting and recording messages for a better part of the day.  “Are you kidding me?  How come nobody told me? That’s awesome!  I wanna send one!”  He laughs at the excitement in her green eyes and peers over her shoulder as she logs in on her phone.

“Cap’sQueen?  That’s your username?” he chuckles.

emery twitter feed

“Fangirl first, fiancé second,” she shrugs her shoulders.  “I’ve had that username forever.  No point in changing it now… I think I’ve adored Chris since Nanny Diaries, but it was that damn Under Armor shirt and stealing the truck in Winter Soldier that really did it,” she chuckles.

“Auto theft? This turns you on? The more I learn about you, the more I realize there is more to you than red hair and killer karaoke skills,” Anthony teases referring to their weekend in New Orleans.

Giggling, Emery explains.  “I just loved when he told Nat to get her feet off the dash!  I’m so short, I always ride like that in a car.  And Steve Rogers behind the wheel of that pick-up truck? That was fuckin’ hot!”

“True GRITS are you?” Anthony laughs, his voice getting sleepy.

“Damn right, you know it. Girl Raised in the South and damn proud… Half the time that Yankee I fell in love with has no idea what I’m talking about, much less what I’m saying if my accent really kicks in.”

“Oh, my God, that’s the best,” Anthony replies.  “Now, can you please shush up, so I can take a nap.  You’re all soft and girly, and you smell nice.  I wanna nap here.”

“You are a flirt!”

“And you like it! And as long as Captain Little Ass doesn’t threaten to punch me, I’m gonna keep doin’ it to; you’re fun!”

“Mackie, shut up and sleep.  If they come looking for you, I’ll hide you under a pile of math papers.”

Within minutes the handsome man is quietly snoring and she returns to her papers.  She takes photos of errors students made and texts the student directly with tips for solving the problems correctly.  She forgets about the tweeting event until her phone begins to blow up again.

Not wanting to wake Anthony, she bites her tongue to keep from laughing at the image on her screen.  She plays it again and again, thinking about the love of her life and his tendency to profess his love in grand ways.

emery twitter line up

In a slight daze, she eventually turns her attention back to her work.  An assistant comes to check on her, bringing a fresh soda and a slice of pizza.  The young woman laughs at the image of Mackie passed out from exhaustion next to Emery on the couch.  She straightens up the area and picks up a few lose papers that had fallen under the couch.  “Miss Emery, how do you do it?  You said earlier you’ve been doing the press tour with them since Friday night.  I’ve only worked with them today.  I’m as exhausted as he is,” she hitches her thumb towards Mackie.

Emery laughs.  “I think I’ve been training for this moment my whole life and didn’t even know it.  But I teach high school.  I think I can handle Evans, Mackie and Renner.  And Paul just cracked me up yesterday.  Getting to know him will be fun.” She laughs as another image pops up in her twitter feed.  “It’s these two that might give me trouble,” she says as she shows the young assistant her second tweet. “They just like to stir it up.”

emery twitter line robert

“Sorry, Robert,” she says out loud to no one in particular. “Not even the promise of French fries would tear me away from #Team Cap!”  She giggles before settling back in to work, knowing it will be time to get ready for the Kimmel event soon enough.

Copyright © 2016 avenger-nerd-mom.  All rights reserved. Intellectual property of avenger-nerd-mom

Leave a Reply

