Pay Up

pay up.jpg

Pay Up

An Emery & Chris story

By avenger-nerd-mom

Chris and Emery kill time in the airport

Warnings: Fluff, Adult Conversations, Language

Word Count: 1266

Chris bounces his leg, bumping up against Emery’s. She looks down at his jittery movements and then catches his attention.  Calmly she says, “Babe. You fly all the time. Why do you let it get to you?” She places her hand firmly on his thigh to control his wiggling.

He grasps her fingers tightly and holds her hand to the inside of his leg. “I’m okay, really.  I just wanna get outta this place and get home.  I hate LA in summer.”

The couple is finishing up a quick stay in LA where Chris attended a few Marvel meetings in preparation for filming this fall. Emery smiles when she realizes he called Savannah “home.” They’ve spent their summer on the go between Boston and Savannah, visiting family and attending weddings of their friends’. This upcoming week is when they’ve planned time for just the two of them, and to get serious about wedding planning.

“Distract me. What are you reading?”  he leans his head on her shoulder and looks down at her tablet.

She holds the screen so he can better see what she’s looking at. “Let’s add it up! It’ll be fun!” She exclaims, showing him the meme someone sent her on Facebook.

pay up.jpg

“Our definition of ‘fun’ is entirely different. To me that just looks like an argument waiting to happen,” he chuckles, nuzzling against her neck.

Emery looks around the terminal cautiously.  She’s still not used to the idea that paparazzi could be anywhere in LA, waiting to capture them on film.  She still enjoys some anonymity, so she pulls her ball cap down tighter, just in case.  “Come on; we can tell stories about the values we ‘earned.’”

Chris sighs.  “Ok, fine.  You add yours up and tell me your stories, then I’ll tell you mine.”  He sits up straight and stretches out his legs, tugging on his jeans before crossing his feet at his ankles.

Emery shifts sideways in her seat to face him and wraps her arms around her knees, holding her tablet to see the list again.  “Oh, no, it doesn’t work that way!  I’d give you my number and then you’d come up with an out, and never actually tell me yours.”  She looks up at the terminal monitor watching for updated information about their flight.  “How about…” she pauses thoughtfully, “… you choose one from the list and we both give our answer?”

She reaches down into her carry on bag and pulls out a pen and a post-it, creating two columns on the sheet to keep track of their scores.

“I still think this is a bad idea… Ok, fine…” Chris huffs, and looks at the meme with interest.  “Ok. ‘Kissed someone of the same sex?’ Fifteen dollars.”

Emery laughs at the expression on his face when she writes the number in her column.  “Don’t look so shocked!  I think most women in our age group have that drunken night in college experience.  Her name was Lena and we were in sorority together, and it was nice, but not life changing or anything,” she giggles.

Chris feigns shock.  “Oh, my God!  Who are you?  I have no idea who I’m marrying,” he teases, pretending to fall over when she playfully punches him in the arm.  “Hey, what are you doing?”

She pauses the pen mid-way through her scribble.  “I know yours is a zero, you’ve already told me.  And I told you about Lena before?  See?  It was so exciting, you’d already forgotten.”

“Ah, but you haven’t? Are you still in contact with her?” he jokes, laughing at the expression on her face.  “Should I be worried?”

“Ugh.  She’s got like four kids and a drunk for a husband.  I bet she wishes I was interested!”  She eyes the growing crowd in the terminal again, before choosing her selection from the list next.  “How about ‘stole something’ for $20?”

Rubbing his beard in thought, Chris contemplates his answer.  “Oh, God. I don’t know.  I mean, I’m sure as a kid I stole a candy bar or something.  And I guess I was always taking shit from Scott, just to piss him off.  Yeah, put me down for $20.”

She writes the number twenty in the column for each of them.  She blushes slightly, admitting, “I started the shoplifting phase when I was about fourteen.  A couple of lipsticks at the drugstore, but never anything over five dollars.  Oh, and I had the worst nightmares about it!  Really, I made myself sick.  After about a month, I just couldn’t do it.  My friend, Sharon, she ended up getting arrested for it.  It was horrible.”

Emery seems lost in thought, a slight shudder wracking her tiny body.  Chris moves closer to comfort her, quietly consoling her.  “Hey, like you said, it was a phase. A long time ago, babe.”  He rubs her shoulder and they continue through the list, laughing and sharing stories.

After a few minutes, they are interrupted by the announcement that their flight has been delayed by an hour and a half.  Chris sinks back into his chair and groans.  “Shit, I thought we’d be boarding by now and we wouldn’t finish this list.  Let me see that damn thing.” He takes the tablet from her hand, and views the image again.  “Ah, hell.  For me, it’s easier to figure out what the total should be and then subtract shit out, rather than add it up,” he laughs.

Shaking her head, Emery laughs with him.  “Ok, yes, you’ve been a good sport, I think we know most of these stories anyway.  Figure out your total then, while I do mine…”  Emery quickly begins to add up the numbers in her head and he stares at her in disbelief as she announces “Two hundred eighty-five!”

“You figured that in your head? That quick?”

“Oh, honey, it’s a good thing you’re pretty.” She lovingly pats his cheek.  “Need me to take care of those scary numbers for you?” She laughs, teasing him in a baby voice.  “What do I need to take out?”

He skims over the list again, “Uh, looks like just the fifteen… Unless you think anal and oral should count as double? If so, then we need to add.”

Emery blushes, covering her hand over his mouth.  “Shh!! Not so loud! Someone will hear you!” she admonishes him before squealing. “Eeww!  Did you just lick me?” She laughs, rubbing her palm across his shoulder.  “That is so gross!”

Chris doubles over in laughter.  “That’s your punishment for that silly game, kitten.”  He catches his breath and settles back in his seat, pulling her close to him.  “You know, when we get home, there are a few things on that list we could work on adding up for you?”  He raises his eyebrow at her with the look he knows she can’t resist.  “Says here you’d get another thirty bucks?”

As soon as the words fall from his lips, before she even has time to react, he laughs, “Aw, babe. Shit, that sounded better in my head!  You know I didn’t mean it like that…” He blushes and hides his face in embarrassment.

She giggles and slides next to him, whispering in his ear, “I should hope my ass is worth more than thirty dollars to you!”

Her warm breath in his ear has its intended effect on him and he wishes to get her home and alone soon.  Smoothly he replies low against her throat as he leans in for a kiss, “It’s a nice ass, babe, a priceless work of art.”

Copyright © 2016 avenger-nerd-mom.  All rights reserved. Intellectual property of avenger-nerd-mom

 

One thought on “Pay Up

  1. theycallmebecca July 20, 2016 / 5:41 am

    Gah I love these two ♥♥♥

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

