Bedroom Politics

from Becca

Bedroom Politics

Emery and Chris share some private opinions in a public forum

Warnings: Language, Adult Situations, Politics

Word Count: 421

“Oh, my God. It’s horrible. I can’t watch.” Emery giggles and hides her face against Chris’s solid chest.

He kisses the top of her head, inhaling the sweet scent of strawberry shampoo. “Look, there you are! You’re so beautiful and poised.”

At the announcer’s voice, she peeks between her fingers. “Coming up after this commercial break, one of Hollywood’s new power couples speaks out on politics in the bedroom.”

“What the fuck?” she sits up, looking at him in horror. “In the bedroom? My mother is watching this?” She swats his arm. “What did you say?!”

“Jesus, kitten, relax. It’s just a soundbite to get attention. I didn’t say anything that would embarrass you.” He pushes an errant curl behind her ear, pulling her back down to him. “Megan was there, she’ll attest to anything I said.”

“Which reminds me; I didn’t really like the press person who helped me that day. If I have to have a personal assistant as part of a ‘power couple,’ I don’t want that one.”

“Done. Maybe you and Megan can meet people next week?”

“Shhh, it’s on,” she says, holding her hand playfully over his mouth.

He can’t hear half the things she said in the interview because she bitched the whole time about how twangy her accent sounded. All he really caught from the interview was a sarcastic but enthusiastic ‘thumbs up’ and the comment she had mumbled under her breath for weeks. “No sane couple should get married in an election year.”

He chuckles at her quip and she laughs at his as well; on camera, he nearly falls out his chair, laughing boisterously, commenting, “Maybe I should have asked more questions before I proposed.”

Wrapping her arms around his neck, she asks, “You really wouldn’t have let that stop you, would you?”

He kisses the tip of her nose. “Nah; we’ll just agree to disagree.”

She brushes his cheek, his beard soft against her hand. “You know it’s not that. Fundamentally I think we agree on the same things. I just don’t like either person claiming they know what’s best.  Too bad moving to Canada isn’t an option.”

He shakes his head. “Helluva a commute for us to work in Georgia, kitten.”

“Chris, is my Southern drawl that noticeable?”

Chuckling, he wraps his arms around her tighter, affecting his own practiced accent to match hers, “Yea, darlin, it is and it’s one of the first things I loved about you.”from Becca.gif

Copyright © 2016 avenger-nerd-mom.  All rights reserved. Intellectual property of avenger-nerd-mom

Leave a Reply

