One Last Time

one last time Aug 13 2016.jpg

One Last Time

By avenger-nerd-mom

A Chris Evans Fan Fic

Chris has to say goodbye to a special someone

Warnings: Emotional, Adult Situations

Word Count: 493

Written for @thewife101cevans

*********

She turns to leave. One last time.

He grabs her, his strong grasp on her upper arm, resting above the crook in her elbow.

“Please don’t go,” he desperately pleads.  “Listen to me.”

She pulls free, her mind made up.  “I am listening.  I’ve been listening to you, to your propaganda, for years.  And right now, you aren’t saying anything.”

His face drops, knowing he’s lost her; she won’t change her mind.  He’s lost his greatest champion, possibly forever.

“Even now,” she spit out, facing him with her hands on her curvy hips.  “Your silence speaks volumes.”

“You won’t listen anyway.”

The sadness in his voice reaches through to her.  She blinks away her own pain, and even with her eyes closed, she can still see him.  The face she admired and loved and stared at day after day for over two years.  His beautiful face painted in her brain, just as she sees him when her eyes flutter open again.

He is standing in front of her now, tears welling in his blue eyes.  “I can’t change your mind.”

A statement.  Not a question.  He knows in his gut it’s a matter of time before she walks out the door.  Maybe gone forever.

“I don’t wike it,” he whispers. One last time.

“You aren’t who I thought you were.  Shame on me for forgetting you’re an actor.”  The bitterness seeps through her vocal chords, burning her with a pain she doesn’t want.

Her eyes drop to his hands, her weakness, as they move to cup her face.

He chuckles mournfully.  “Shame on me for being so good at it.”

He kisses tenderly on her soft pink lips, the goodbye he needs, whether she wants it or not.  His thumbs wipe her silent tears and the liquid salty emotions reach his mouth as he pulls away with a quiet smack, echoing in the room.

“Thank you for loving me,” he murmurs near her ear, leaning his forehead to rest against hers, tugging her dark curls.  One last time.

Grabbing his hands, she gently pushes them away from her, squeezing them in her grasp. One last time.

She steps back.  “I can’t any more.”

His regretful sigh fills the room.  Moving away, to stop himself from doing something they’d both be sorry for later, he sits on the end of the bed, resting forward on his elbows, wringing his hands.  “I know.  I understand…  I hope one day you can forgive me.”

His eyes look up, silently pleading with her as the tears cling to his long dark lashes.

A faint smile raises her lip.  She steps forward and runs her hand tenderly down his cheek, his stubble tickling her palm.  Memorizing each freckle, each laugh line, each beauty mark.  One last time.

“Me too,” she says, a hint of hope hanging in the air as she walks out the door to their room.  One last time.

His choked voice speaks to an empty room.  “I hope to see you again.  Bye, beautiful.”

Copyright © 2016 avenger-nerd-mom.  All rights reserved. Intellectual property of avenger-nerd-mom

4 thoughts on “One Last Time

  1. devikafernando August 13, 2016 / 10:14 pm

    Christ, this was difficult. *sniffles*

    Liked by 1 person

    • avenger-nerd-mom August 13, 2016 / 11:43 pm

      Oh, Devika! You have no idea… I cried when I hand wrote it. I cried when I typed it. I cried waiting for thewife to read it. I cried posting it…

      Like

Leave a Reply

