No Decisions Today

no decisions today jan 1 2017.JPG

No Decisions Today

a Sunshine Story

a Chris Evans fan fic

By avenger-nerd-mom

Chris takes Sunshine home to meet the family and she receives an interesting phone call

Warnings: Language, adult situations, tickle fight, seriously way too much ice cream, fluff

Author’s Note: I feel like if I don’t post this story now, I never will.  Life is crazy and my original fiction is calling me! For the present time, this is the conclusion to the Sunshine series.- ANM 1/1/17

Word Count: 3176

After dinner is cleared away, the family retreats to the airy living room and I am loving every minute of it.  It makes me miss my family a bit, thinking of when we can all get together.  The boys are enjoying time with “Uncle Chris” and are taking turns diving off the couch and landing on him, much to Mama Lisa’s dismay.  She cringes each time, just waiting for someone to get hurt.

“Relax, Ma,” Carly chides as she sits on the couch next to me.  “You know he’ll catch them every time.  He’s the one that’s gonna be sore tomorrow.”  She says this with a smile as Chris moans when he’s kicked in the stomach again.

“Well, it makes me nervous.  I can’t stay here and watch.  Shanna, will you come help me set out dessert?”  Lisa rises from her chair, bending to straighten some magazines on the side table.  I swear the woman never stops moving.

Shanna rolls her eyes and I can’t hold in my giggles. I try to intervene on her behalf, knowing it’s difficult to be the youngest.  “Miss Lisa?  Can’t I help?  Please, I feel bad.  You haven’t let me lift a finger since I arrived and-”

“Sweetie, you just sit back and relax.  Help keep the kids busy; it’s all under control.”  She smiles warmly and walks staunchly towards the kitchen, the proud matriarch of the family.

I shrug my shoulders to Shanna as if to say, ‘I tried.’  Chris smiles up at me from the floor and winks, swatting at Shanna’s legs as she walks by.  “Thanks, sis,” he says, appreciation dripping from his rich, velvety voice.

The kids continue to roll around the room and play with their uncle, shrieking with delight when ‘Uncle Scott’ joins the fun.  One of the boys brushes against my bare foot and I quickly pull it away, lifting it up and tucking it under me as I sit and talk with Carly and her husband.

Later, the noise dies down and Carly goes off in search of the kids.  “It’s not the sound that bothers me; it’s the quiet.  That’s usually when they’re up to no good.”  She rises from the couch, and nudges her husband, who has drifted off to sleep.  He quietly snorts and pushes her hand away.

Chris’s muffled voice rises up from the floor, his arm draped over his closed eyes.  “They’re fine, Sis.  They wanted Scott to see where they plan to build their secret fort.  But it’s a secret.  You didn’t hear that from me.”

The mention of a secret fort jolts Ryan awake.  The tired parents set off in search of their offspring, mumbling about the influence of ‘Uncle Scott.’

Chris rolls over on his belly, a look of contentment and joy on his face.  His smile turns up in a childish grin, something on his mind.  “So, uh, Sunshine?  I couldn’t help but notice you pulled your foot away while the kids were playing.”

I sense of dread fills me but I keep my voice light.  “Yeah, I didn’t want them tripping over my big feet and getting hurt.”

Army crawling towards me on his stomach I know he knows.  Crap.  The look on his face is purely sinful.  “So, it’s not because you’re ticklish?”  His voice drops, adding an air of seduction to his play as his warm hands snakes under me and grabs my ankle.  I squirm away from him, but his hold is tight.

Christopher.  Don’t.  You.  Dare.”

He rises up on his knees, his too- tight shirt stretching over his chest drawing my attention to his beautiful form, distracting me for a moment. Chris wraps his other hand around my ankle and I try to kick him away, connecting with his shoulder and he laughs playfully.  “Sorry, sorry,” I whisper, just adding fuel to his laughter as he guffaws even more loudly.

Giving a forceful tug, he pulls me onto the floor next to him.  I land with a slight bounce, thankful once again for my extra padding. Squealing I scramble to crawl away from him, but his grip is tight and he throws his weight against me, pinning me to the ground. Crawling over me with a predatory look on his chiseled features, I admit defeat to myself knowing I really don’t want to get away.

My stomach flips and turns in knots and I know he’s going to win.  I try to block his attack as his hand roams up my side, poking and brushing over the stays of my tight blue sundress.  His hand flies up to my face and brushes my disheveled hair from my eyes.  “You’re really beautiful, Sunshine… How have you kept this a secret from me all this time?”  His breath is warm against me when his lips brush against mine. Shifting, his rugged beard tickles my face, dancing across my cheek to my neck. He moves his head back and forth assaulting me with the coarse bristles of his beard as he nips and bites at my tender skin and I can’t catch my breath.

“Stop,” I whine, pushing fruitlessly against his firm chest.  “That tickles; really.  Stop, please.”

“Aw, honey, you know I love when you beg…”  He continues to torment me with his beard while his hand digs and kneads at my rib cage, up and down; teasing me, tickling me, torturing me.  My legs rise up around him, trying to protect myself; trying to block his movements, my hands clutching at his strapping biceps to get him off me.

His attack really just provides us an innocent excuse to have our hands all over each other, appropriate for the family setting.  And I settle into the ticklish sensations taking over me, helpless giggles and quiet pleas escaping my lipstick stained mouth.  Breathless, my breasts heave and threaten to push over the top of my dress as he rolls off of me and snuggles against my side.

“Are you as oddly turned on as I am?”  Chris laughs, tucking fly-away hairs behind my ear, the delicate touch a trigger in my heightened state and I shudder against him.

I giggle, hiding my face under a pillow near us on the floor. “Oh my god, that will kill me, but yes. Lord, yes.”

He pulls the pillow from my face and gently leans over to kiss my soft lips, tenderly caressing my belly to slow my evident muscle spasms and calm my breathing.

“Uncle Chris! Dessert time! Grandma got your favorite ice cream!” One of the boys yells as he streaks through the living room, mimicking a gagging motion at the sight of our kisses.

“More food? I don’t think I could eat another thing!” I exclaim as Chris pulls me to my feet, purposely pushing his solid body into mine.

I catch him sneaking a quick glance to the kitchen doorway. I can’t see anyone standing there, so I don’t slap his hand away as he wraps his strong arms around me, hitching up my skirt and grasping my rounded ass.  “We aren’t done with this,” he growls predatorily into my ear, sending shivers down my spine.

I step away, taking my hand in his large paw and lead him to the kitchen.  I look over my shoulder and watch him following me like a puppy in his own home.

The sight on the kitchen counter is heaven.  I can definitely see where Chris developed his affinity for ice cream!  Lisa has pints of every flavor imaginable on the counter, with bowls of sprinkles, nuts and various toppings lined up.  Seeing the smile on my face, she grins back and says, “Chris tells me your favorite flavor is-”

I spot it and pull the container to me, taking a spoon.

“Hey! We are sharing!” Chris laughs.  “That’s not all for you!”

I raise my eyebrow at him and a devilish urge to challenge him flashes through me.  I lick the spoon quickly and stick it in the middle of the container.  Shanna laughs and hi-fives me, repeating the same action for the pint in front of her.

Scott scoffs. “Dammit. I don’t want any of that now… I don’t wanna think about where your mouth has been.”  He shudders and then hollers in pain when Carly slaps the back of his head.

“The kids are here. Behave,” she admonishes her youngest brother.  “I swear, it’s like living in a frat house when you two get together.  Not everything has to be R-rated, you know.”

“Scott, mind you manners and hold your tongue,” Lisa also scolds him, waving a bottle of electric blue dish soap at him.  All the adult Evans children groan, and to my right, Scott mumbles under his breath, “Worst punishment ever.” He shudders as if still remembering the taste of soap in his mouth.

I giggle, reaching across the bar to get the container of hot fudge and Chris pushes the bowl of cashews towards me.  “So, Christopher, was that a punishment you received often?”

The family chuckles at my use of his full name.  “Yeah, Uncle Christopher. Did Grandma ever soap your tongue?” one of the boys chimes in, climbing up on the stool across from me.

The family settles in to their pattern of storytelling and I instantly feel at home and warm in their presence. Looking around the counter and at the kids at the table, I see a little bit of each of them reflected in Chris.  I love seeing how the little ones are so much like their favorite uncle and I’m sure that creates trouble for Carly at times.

Stories continue, changing from one topic to the next. As the children get restless, Carly’s husband offers to take them up to bed.  By now, most of us have moved to more comfortable seats around the table.  Before saying goodnight, Stella crawls up in my lap and grasps the sides of my face in her chubby little hands.  “You’re fwuffy.  I wike it,” she declares as she leans in to kiss me on the cheek. I giggle at the tickle of her touch and her honest candor.

Carly’s eyes are filled with horror and I kiss the little girl back before blowing a raspberry on her cheek.  “I wike it too; fluffy girls have more fun,” I admit to her.  Looking around the room, I know why it was important for Chris to bring me home.  He wanted me to see that all the women in his life that are most important to him are ‘fluffy.’  To show me that I’m important to him…

“And we get to eat more cake,” she giggles as her dad pulls her from my lap into his arms.

“All the cake, sweet Princess,” Shanna laughs, tickling the bottom of her niece’s foot as Ryan carries her from the room.

Carly whispers her apologies and I just shrug them off.  “Carly, relax.  I’m a big girl,” I chuckle at the unintended play on words, tilting my head to the side.  “I can handle it; at least kids are honest about it.  And fluffy is the sweetest adjective I’ve ever heard; I’ll take that title.”

Patting her own motherly form, Lisa giggles.  “Fluffy?  I can deal with that too.  And I’m all for anything requiring cake,” she jokes as she cuts off a small piece to go with her ice cream.  “That little girl has amazing ideas.  I have no idea where she gets them.”

“Oh, not from any of the strong, independent, sassy women in this room, that’s for sure,” Scott delivers with heavy sarcasm, a beam of pride across his face.

Winking at me, nodding his head in understanding, Chris leans to me and looks at my container of ice cream.  “Not making much progress there Sunshine,” he teases.

“I never said I was eating the whole thing tonight but I claim it for the next few days we are in town.”  I lay my spoon down on his plate where he had brownies with his ice cream and lean back in my seat.  “I can’t eat another bite; Lisa you are an amazing cook!  All that home-cooked Italian food? I’d love to have some of those recipes.”

“Oh, no. No one can quite make it like Ma does,” Carly complains.  “I live with the woman; we cook together all the time.  But when I do it alone, it’s crap.  It’s like she leaves out one ingredient every time she gives me a recipe just so I won’t be as good as her.”

She glares at her mother, and I can tell this is an on-going tease in the family.

Chris pipes up.  “Sunshine is an amazing cook!” He leans back in his chair, his leg bumping against my thigh.  He pats his belly and proclaims, “All that Venezuelan food?  I think I’ve gained ten pounds.  Getting in shape for Cap is gonna be a bitch.”

I can hear Scott and Chris talking about his upcoming project, but I focus on the discussion of the women.  Shanna asks about the types of food I like to cook and she and Lisa convince me I should cook one night while we are in town.  Drawn back into our ‘girl talk’ as he puts it, Chris agrees to hosting a dinner party at his home .  He starts asking the family if they think his house is impersonal and I notice Lisa and Carly shy away from the chat. I don’t focus on the last of this conversation. My phone rings and I am flustered by the information on the screen.  I stand up abruptly and put my hand on his shoulder. “Work thing, gotta take it.”

He nods his head yes and keeps entertaining his family with his stories as I walk into the living room to take the call in private. Before I am out of earshot, I hear Scott over the low roar in the room, “Damn bro, she’s definitely different from your other girls you’ve brought home.  You really like her, don’t you?”

I can hear Carly.  “Nah, it’s love.  And he’s so far gone he doesn’t know what to do with himself, right lil’ bro?”

Shit.  Looking at my phone screen again, I do not want to know the answer to that question. I run quickly for the door and step out on the front porch, closing it loudly behind me.

#

Returning the kitchen, everyone’s face turns to me and I can’t hide my smile.  Chris rises from his chair, his eyes taking on a shade of green to match the shirt he wears, and smiles at me in anticipation.

“I got it; I got the job!”  I whisper, still in such shock I can’t believe it myself.

Chris picks me up and spins me around in a quick circle.  I giggle when I hear Scott’s gasp of disbelief and Carly hits the back of his head again.

“That’s amazing, Sunshine, I’m so happy for you!”  Taking my face in his large hands, Chris kisses me tenderly, but there is a sadness in his green eyes.  “This is what you want, right?”

“Yea, I think so, it’s my chance,” I shrug my shoulders and laugh, not being able to contain my joy.

Carly looks quizzically between the two of us, and asks cautiously, “A new job?  That’s great!  What- what is it?”  Her gaze lingers on Chris and I wonder about his confession to his siblings while I was outside, but that will be for us to discuss later.

Sinking back into my chair and sighing deeply, I fight to find the words, torn between the good and the bad.  “Months ago, before I started working for Christopher, I had a job with a TV exec down in the valley.  She had me audition for an idea of a design show she wanted to put together…”  I watch as a most proud smile breaks across Chris’s face as the news sinks in and he grips my hand a bit tighter, sitting back down next to me.  I notice Mama Lisa’s gaze is on her son, and his reactions to my words, but I continue my news.  “Well, she got the go ahead from the cable network and the other execs want me to do the show.” Saying it out loud the crazy story becomes real, and I giggle nervously.   I turn to look at him. “Me, Christopher… I’m gonna be on TV, redoing homes and giving decorator secrets.  Can you believe it?”

“Fuckin’ wicked, Sunshine.  That’s amazing.”  Raising my hand to his lips, he kisses the back of my hand, tears of happiness in his eyes.  His family chimes in with their words of congratulations and well wishes. “I’m so proud of you; my girl’s gonna be a TV star,” he chuckles.  My heart soars with his faith in me and I tell him so.

“No one’s ever believed in me the way you do; honey.  Your support keeps me going, even when I want to give up, and I…” I pause as the words choke in my throat, fighting back my own tears.  “I will always love you for it.”

One by one, his family begins to sneak away, realizing this may be a bigger discussion than they are ready to witness.

His face falls and sadness momentarily takes away his good looks.  I hate to think of causing him pain and grief.  I pinch my eyes shut and when I open them, a weak smile has returned to his visage. “Sunshine, what are you saying?  I love you too, whatever this is, we can figure it out.”

He’s finally said the words I desperately longed to hear and now I feel they’re a little too late.

Caressing the side of his face, I say what he hasn’t pieced together yet.  “I start filming the same time you’ll be leaving for Georgia in the Spring.  I can’t go with you; I know we talked about it and had plans, but-”

“Shhh, Sunshine.  You’re my light.”  Chris sits up and scoots his chair closer,  placing his arm across my belly and resting it on the edge of my chair.  “You’re talking like this is good-bye.  I’m crazy about you…”  With his other hand, he traces his fingers across my hummingbird tat before looking up into my eyes, both of us with tears threatening to spill over.  “I love you, my Sunshine, and we don’t have to decide anything for now.  Okay?”  His once powerful voice is now barely a whisper on a his breath.  “Promise me that?”

Sighing deeply, I shake my head slightly, knowing he’ll want to stretch out the inevitable.  Choking back my tears, I place my lips gently to his, tasting the mixed salt of our tears.  Still caressing the side of his cheek, I slide my nose against his, and whisper the words softly against his skin.  “Right, we don’t have to decide anything today.  We still have several months to figure it all out; it’s vacation. No decisions today..”

Copyright © 2017  avenger-nerd-mom.  All rights reserved. Intellectual property of avenger-nerd-mom

 

3 thoughts on “No Decisions Today

  1. devikafernando January 1, 2017 / 4:09 pm

    Love all the feelings and authenticity in this!
    (And love hearing that your original fic is calling to you!)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. deathbyukmen March 5, 2017 / 3:01 pm

    Sunshine

    No decisions today

    What a sweet picture you created, Chris on the floor playing with the kids, Sunshine trying to get Mama Lisa to let her help out. A picture perfect family! I want to be invited to dinner here!

    The whole tickle fight….then ending with this [“Are you as oddly turned on as I am?” Chris laughs, tucking fly-away hairs behind my ear, the delicate touch a trigger in my heightened state and I shudder against him.] oh cheese and crackers, that was so freak’n cute, a couple that can be themselves and be playful, perfection!

    Uuuggghhhh Chris growling, oh how I would love to have that in my ear!

    Ahh, got to love kids, they say the funniest things [“You’re fwuffy. I wike it,”]!

    Then you toss in the job offer, the “I Love You’s”, and then you toss in the angst of making a decision. . . And then you leave us there. . . You cruel cruel woman, but I still love ya!

    Can not wait to read more of your stories!

    Like

    • avenger-nerd-mom March 5, 2017 / 5:43 pm

      No decisions… How I truly feel about this… I want more. I want sunshine to be happy with him forever… but she’s gone away for awhile and I can’t seem to find her. I want her back…. I need her

      Like

Leave a Reply

