Online Shopping

online shopping august 9 2017.jpg

An Emery & Chris Drabble

By avenger-nerd-mom

Emery visits Chris in South Africa, spending the day in their hotel room while he works.

Warnings: Fluff, none

A special thanks to @mintmintdoodles for allowing me to make reference to her artwork and merchandise in this story.  See her shop at https://society6.com/mintmint/backpacks

Emery looks up from her computer with the key card slides through the hotel lock.  She bounds across the room and greets her handsome, scruffy husband at the door.  Sunburned and almost unrecognizable with his shaggy hair, she throws her arm around his neck, nearly knocking him over.  “Someone’s in a good mood,” he chuckles.

Chris closes the door behind him and wraps his strong arms around her waist, lifting her and carrying her to the bed.  He tosses her to the center and kisses down her tanned legs in her summer shorts before sitting on the end of the bed with a groan.  He pulls off his boots and massages the tops of his feet, achy from the tight laces. “How was your day?”

His lovely bride places her tiny feet on his back and walks them up and down his spine.  He sits there and takes the silly, loving gesture.  “Worked on some stuff for school, read a good book.  Did some shopping.”

Chris turns on the bed and takes her feet into his lap, pulling her closer to him, wanting her near.  “Shopping?  Em, I asked you not to leave the room.  It’s not really the safest around here and-”

“Honey, chill.  No, I was shopping on-line, getting some supplies, setting up some meal kit deliveries I want us to try out, and,” she announces with a dramatic flourish, “I got you a present.”  She moans quietly when he raises her foot to kiss under the arch.  “Damn,” she hisses.  “That’s nice.”

He sighs, “A present, Em.  You didn’t have to do that.  You’re all the gift I need.”

“Fuck that bullshit, I wanna get my man I gift, I’m getting him a gift.  I don’t care if you can go out and get whatever we want.  I saw this today, and I had to order it.  You need it.”

He lays down on the bed next to her, turning his face to look into her beautiful blue eyes.  “Fine, okay, I won’t be home for a few more weeks.  Do I have to wait that long?”

She playfully punches his arm.  “See?  I knew you secretly liked it when I buy you presents!”  She wiggles on the bed and pulls her phone from her back pocket.  Scrolling through a few images she hides the phone against her face.  “You ready?  Close your eyes!”

Chris sighs and pushes his longer hair back.  He closes his eyes, and his legs anxiously wiggle the bed in anticipation.  It’s one of the things she hates, but really misses when he’s gone.  In profile, relaxed on the bed, he looks so beautiful, but it’s not the face she knows.  She’ll be happy when he’s finished filming in Cape Town and he can get back home to her.  They’ve made a few plans for the Fall when he gets back, before he has to be in New York for rehearsals for his stage debut.  She holds the phone above him and whispers in his ear, “Open your eyes!”

His clear blue eyes slowly peek open and it takes him a moment to focus.  He laughs out loud.  “Oh, my God!  That’s wicked, kitten!  Is that a… a backpack with Dodger on it?”  He chuckles.  “In a Patriots jersey?  Fuck, Em.  That’s perfect.  How did you find it?”

He lays the phone down on the bed and reaches for her, rolling his petite wife on top of him.  He misses the weight of feeling her on him and he hates being apart so much.  It really is the perfect thing, so adorable, but he doesn’t really know what to do with a backpack.

She smiles down into his face, propped up on her elbow and using her other hand to massage his beard.  The longer it gets, the more it bothers him, but he can’t trim it now, not in the middle of filming.  He knows she hates it, but she doesn’t say a word.  “I still have some of my friends in the fandom, and Mint is an amazing artist. I just saw it when she posted it today, and knew you had to have it.  I know it’s a little childish, but Dodger?  In a jersey?”   She pauses and pushes her red curls back and out of their faces.  “Honestly, my first thought when I saw it was that it would make the perfect diaper bag.”

Chris rolls his wife to his side and rises up on his elbows.  Hopefully, he asks, “Are we- are we pregnant again?”

Her miscarriage last spring had been devastating to take, and they hadn’t really been trying for another child, but they hadn’t been not trying either.  She runs her hand down his chest, shaking her head.  “No.  No, but I can think about it now, and it doesn’t hurt…  I just saw the bag and thought it would be really sweet if that’s what you carried around baby supplies in.  You’ll make all the men at the ‘daddy and me’ classes jealous!”

She giggles and he leans over to kiss the tip of her nose. “That’s my girl, glad to see your smile back. Thank you, babe.  I love it; I’ll wear it everywhere.”  He tucks her up to his side and caresses his fingers through her hair, wanting to capture every moment before she returns back to the States at the end of the week.  “Love you till the end of the line, babe.”

He smiles, knowing she’s asleep in his arms before he even finishes the sentence.

Copyright © 2017  avenger-nerd-mom. All rights reserved. Intellectual property of avenger-nerd-mom

Leave a Reply

